Taking control of Depression

For the last few months I have made some drastic changes. To start off I haven’t been feeling very healthy this past year. I have been suffering from many aches, pains, anxiety and depression.

It was time to get the help I needed. Depression comes and goes just like anxiety,  it comes in waves, especially during the long winter months in Canada. I sought help from a Psychologist and am taking medication to get control. A few months have passed and I am feeling great. I have learned a few ways to get out of a funk:

  • Go for a walk
  • Drink a glass of water
  • Read something positive
  • Let someone know you are hurting
  • Surround yourself with others
  • Get out into the sunlight
  • Keep up regular activities
  • Get a good nights sleep
  • Listen to music
  • Volunteer
  • Help others
  • Do something that makes you feel good
  • Join a support group
  • Journal your thoughts
  • Keep track on a calendar of when you feel unwell

Call 911 if you are feeling Suicidal.

I have been dealing on and off with symptoms over the last few years. Its been a tough road but with help, support and new medication I managed to get through it. Just remember that you are not alone, in fact someone you may know may be suffering as well. Never be afraid to talk about your Mental health, it is just as important as your physical health. I am back on track and feeling great.

 

Leave a comment